Knight Jump Moves

Can the Knight (Horse) piece jump? Yes, of course, thatís the only thing that it does! It has to jump!

The Knight is actually the only piece that can do a proper jump move. Other pieces can slide along multiple empty squares, but only the Knight truly jumps. The Knight does not need any empty squares, but can be totally surrounded by your own or by enemy pieces, and it can still jump over them in its normal 2-1 or 1-2 L-shape pattern.

Capture moves are also done by jumping. And the Knight can move backwards as part of a jump move. In fact, 4 of the maximum 8 possible jump moves are backwards moves.

Related Chess Rules Topics

Read more about these related chess rules, chess puzzles, and other chess tactics and strategies: