Draw by No Progress

When neither player has a realistic chance of winning the game, it is said to involve “no progress” towards a win (by either player). A “draw by no progress” can occur in a chess game in a few ways:

An official tournament referee may declare a game a draw based on “no progress” if neither play is realistically trying to win the game, or if the position cannot actually be won. In practice, many such games are “drawn by agreement” without involving a referee. No progress may also be a good reason to award a draw by adjudication.

There are some versions of this rule where a player may actually “claim” a draw under some circumstances. They may stop the clocks and ask the tournament referee to declare the draw based on their being “no progress” or there being “no really attempt to win” being made by the opponent.

Related Chess Rules Topics

Read more about these related chess rules, chess puzzles, and other chess tactics and strategies: