Double Time Forfeit

A double time forfeit is where both players have run out of time on the chess clock. Both players have a “time forfeit” or are said to have “lost on time”. But neither player actually loses; the result is a draw. There’s no winner, so it’s a draw. Half point each.

Double Late Arrival Forfeit

There’s only one obscure case that might be a double loss. If neither player arrives on time for a game within the starting “grace period”, then both players may get a “late arrival forfeit” and it’s possibly then a “double forfeit” with two goose eggs.

Related Chess Rules Topics

Read more about these related chess rules, chess puzzles, and other chess tactics and strategies: