Castling After Check

Can you castle with your King after it is checked by an enemy piece? No, you cannot “castle out of check” by the rules of chess. That is an illegal move.

An enemy check must be met by one of these three options:

  • Moving your King
  • Capturing the Enemy Piece
  • Blocking the Check with a Piece

However, note that a single check does not permanently end your right to castle. Only actually moving your King will lose your “castling right” for the whole game. So if you block a check, or capture the enemy checking piece, then your King still has the right to castle and can castle later in the game (provided it’s not in check again!).

There are a lot more rules about the special “castles move”. Read more about: Castling Rights, Castling Move Rules.

Related Chess Rules Topics

Read more about these related chess rules, chess puzzles, and other chess tactics and strategies: