Can Bishops Jump?

Can the Bishop piece jump in chess? No, it can only slide along diagonals. The Bishop (or Queen) cannot jump over any pieces diagonally. It can only slide along empty squares until it comes to an enemy piece (which it may capture) or it comes up against its own piece (it has to stop on the square before its own pieces as it cannot capture them). Only the Knight can truly jump over other pieces.

Related Chess Rules Topics

Read more about these related chess rules, chess puzzles, and other chess tactics and strategies: