Bishop Backwards Moves

Can the Bishop piece move backwards in chess? Yes, it certainly can, and often does. The Bishops can move backwards or forwards, provided it is diagonally, as many times in any direction. Bishpos can move backwards in 2 directions. Bishops can also capture backwards. The only chess piece that cannot move backwards is pawns, which are not allowed to ever do so.

Related Chess Rules Topics

Read more about these related chess rules, chess puzzles, and other chess tactics and strategies: