Announcing Queen Checks

There is no particular rule about “Queen checks”, by which I mean attacks against the Queen. Obviously, the Queen can check the other King, but there’s a concept of a “Queen check” when some enemy piece attacks your Queen.

In some forms of social play, it’s polite to “announce” a “queen check”. Like if you announce a King check by saying “check” when you’re attacking the enemy King, you can similarly announce a Queen check by saying “check” or “Queen check” when you’ve made a move attacking their Queen.

It’s polite, but not required in tournament play. In fact, even announcing a “King check” is not required in tournament play. In serious adult tournaments, it’s maybe even a minor “faux pas” to announce check, because good players are not supposed to need the help.

Related Chess Rules Topics

Read more about these related chess rules, chess puzzles, and other chess tactics and strategies: